Hilton announce free internet promise

Knowing how much I talk about free internet and wi-fi at hotels and the importance of this to travellers, I couldn’t resist commenting on the press release I saw on Monday from Hilton Worldwide, promising their Gold and Diamond Hilton HHonors members complimentary high-speed internet access at more than 3,600 hotels (including brands: Waldorf Astoria Hotels &  Resorts, Conrad Hotels & Resorts, Hilton, Doubletree, Embassy Suites  Hotels, Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Hotels, Homewood Suites by Hilton, Home2  Suites by Hilton and Hilton Grand Vacations).  Excellent news for members!

Moving away from this announcement, I still find it staggering when I go to a hotel and they don’t offer wi-fi in my room.  Maybe I am being a little bit of a geek, but this to me is a key requirement of any city hotel.  I’ll forgive small countryside retreats, but for a hotel chain not to offer wi-fi, or at the very least high-speed internet connection in all bedrooms is bordering on the prehistoric.  Yet still, I arrive at hotels and the only wi-fi connection is in the lobby or public areas.  This leaves me frustrated – so what does it do to the guests?

My second bug-bear is those hotels that do provide wi-fi but it’s of poor quality.  I recently stayed at a hotel where to my admiration, wi-fi was available in all guest bedrooms and was free of charge (my perfect combination!).  However, it was difficult to access, made even more tricky because of a lack of troubleshooting knowledge on the front desk and lack of information in my room.  When I eventually connected, the speed was so bad that it was quicker to use my Blackberry for everything.

Hotels, please take note. It’s fantastic to offer wi-fi in guest bedrooms, especially complimentary access – but if its poor quality and low-speed, this just reflects badly on your property and guests soon start to become frustrated and they will subconsciously take this into account of their overall guest experience.

Contribute, engage and discuss - leave a comment!

