Hotel Review: Radisson Blu Hotel – Durham

This is the first hotel review I’ve added to the blog, but I wanted to start adding some reviews of properties I have stayed in, both for business and for leisure.  In future reviews, I will also add some video’s to the blog of rooms, public areas etc to help get a feel of each property.  I think it’s really important not just to talk about the hospitality industry topics on the blog, but to actually celebrate our passion for hotels. 

The first such review is for the Radisson Blu Hotel in Durham – the first “Blu” hotel I have stayed at in the UK.  I actually stayed here on business and as such, had my accommodation booked for me based purely on location so when I arrived, I was not as clued up as I would usually be!  I was very presently surprised.  This was a very new hotel and exceptionally clean and welcoming.  The lobby was well laid out with three people at the main desk ready to help guests.  Luckily, there was no queue to check-in (always a good sign after a long journey) and within minutes was making my way to my room.  I was in a standard room and I was very impressed with what I got.  A large, double room with high quality furnishing, flat screen TV and good sized bathroom.  So often in city centre hotels, the bathrooms are so small, but here you had plenty of space and again the furnishings were like new, complete with power shower and fluffy towels.

What I like about Radisson Blu hotels is that wi-fi is complimentary.  I do not understand why at hotels placed ideally for business travellers, that there is not wi-fi available, or its vastly expensive.  Free wi-fi available in my room will single handily mean I will go back to that hotel above all others in the area.  Hotels must understand the importance of this.  The connection was very easy to set up, with a unique code displayed immediately on the TV screen when I entered the room.  The connection was also very fast, which was especially pleasing as so often in room wi-fi is so slow.

Although I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel, the breakfast was first class and the evening menu at the Italian restaurant looked very inviting.  There were also great facilities at the hotel including a comfortable bar and seating area in the lobby, indoor swimming pool and PACE Health Club consisting of a gymnasium, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi, Emmanais Treatment Rooms along with business facilities such as meeting and conference rooms.

Overall, I had a great experience at this hotel that I could not fault.  Everything was a very high standard – the staff, dinning, wi-fi and bedroom.

 

Contribute, engage and discuss - leave a comment!

